BarbadosCARICOM at workFeaturedNews

CARICOM mounting election observation mission for Guyana’s Elections

Members of the CARICOM Election Observation Mission (CEOM) began arriving in Guyana on February 24, to monitor the country’s Regional and General Elections early next month.

The full complement of the 14-Member Mission will be in Guyana on February 27, and will be on the ground until March 4.

In November, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Guyana, Hon. Dr. Karen Cummings officially informed the CARICOM Secretariat of President H.E. David Granger’s proclamation that General and Regional Elections will be held March 2. The CARICOM Secretariat was also invited to mount the CEOM, to ensure the transparency of all electoral processes and to invest confidence in the results of the elections.

Ms. Cynthia Cleopatra Combie Martyr, a national of Saint Lucia is leading the Mission which includes electoral management experts from Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago. The Observation Mission will be assisted by Mr. Brian Bellevue, Ms. Serojnie Seetaram and Ms Denise Morgan of the CARICOM Secretariat. The Chief of Mission will depart Guyana on March 5.

Please see the Members of the Observation Mission below:

1. Ms. Cynthia Cleopatra Combie Martyr, (National of Saint Lucia)
2. Mr. John M. Jarvis, Commissioner, (National of Antigua and Barbuda);
3. Ms. Carolyn Thomas-Parker, (National of Antigua and Barbuda);
4. Mr. Philip Anthony Turner, (National of The Bahamas);
5. Ms. Lesa Collins, (National of Barbados);
6. Mr. Leonard Walters, (National of Barbados);
7. Ms. Yves-Marie Edouard, (National of Haiti);
8. Mr. Glendon Ricardo Bennett, (National of Jamaica);
9. His Excellency Mr. Lionel Sydney Osborne, (National of St. Kitts and Nevis);
10. Mr. Gaspar Jn. Baptiste, (National of Saint Lucia);
11. Mr. Sylvester Anthony King, (National of St. Vincent and the Grenadines);
12. Ms. Renuka Raghoe, (National of Suriname);
13. Ms. Fern Narcis-Scope, (National of Trinidad and Tobago); and
14. Dr. Noel Kalicharan, (National of Trinidad and Tobago).

Show More
Back to top button