Press Releases

CARICOM SG accredits three new ambassadors

CARICOM Secretary-General, Dr Carla Barnett accredited three new ambassadors on Tuesday 20 February at the Headquarters of the Community in Georgetown, Guyana.

Earlier in the day, Dr Barnett first accepted the letters of credence of His Excellency Cornelis Hersbach from the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Secretary-General Dr Carla Barnett and His Excellency Cornelis Hersbach from the Kingdom of the Netherlands display letters of Credence

During the afternoon, the Secretary-General welcomed Her Excellency Ellen De Geest from the Kingdom of Belgium. The busy day of accreditations ended with the new envoy from Ireland, Her Excellency Fiona Flood.

Secretary General, DR Carla Barnett and Irish Ambassador interact following her accreditation
Secretary General, Dr Carla Barnett and Irish Ambassador Her Excellency Fiona Flood interact following her accreditation

The accreditations come ahead of the 46th   Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community, which will begin in Georgetown, Guyana on Sunday 25 February, under the Chairmanship of H.E. Dr Mohamed Irfaan Ali, President of Guyana.

The new ambassadors will attend the opening ceremony of the Meeting along with the other plenipotentiary representatives accredited to CARICOM.

Recently, CARICOM strengthened diplomatic relations with several countries which have appointed new ambassadors to the Community. These include Australia, New Zealand, Columbia, India, Greece, Germany, Switzerland, and the United States of America.

Show More
Back to top button