Press Releases


(CARICOM Secretariat, Georgetown, Guyana)  The Caribbean Community Secretariat will continue the noble tradition of recognising the contributions made by staff members at a presentation ceremony followed by a reception to mark CARICOM Day at Colgrain House, Camp Street on Friday, July 18, 1997. These functions are being held on the occasion of the Twenty-Fourth Anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas.

On this occasion, fifty one staff members who have served the Secretariat for 10, 15, 20 and 25 years will be honoured. The list is headed by five persons who have served as much as twenty six years and 11 months. These are Assistant Secretary General Mr Byron Blake, Mr Joseph Farier, Ms Andrea Watson-James, Mr Cesare Granger and Ms Orinthia Barton.

Another highlight of the evening will be the toast to CARICOM to be moved by the Secretary General Mr Edwin Carrington and the President of Guyana, His Excellency Samuel Hinds. The Prime Minister of Guyana, the Honourable Janet Jagan is expected to attend.

Show More
Back to top button