CARICOMCARICOM at workFeaturedSaint Lucia

Saint Lucians vote for change

Saint Lucians voted for a change of government in General Elections on Monday 26 July 2021.

The opposition Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP), led for the first time by Phillip J. Pierre, captured 13 of the 17 seats at stake, according to the preliminary results issued by the Saint Lucia Electoral Department.

The incumbent United Workers Party (UWP) of Prime Minister Allen Chastanet only retained two seats, with Mr Chastanet keeping his Micoud-South seat.

The other two seats went to Independent candidates, one of whom was the former Prime Minister Stevenson King who broke ranks with the UWP on the eve of the elections.

The full preliminary results can be seen on the Electoral departments Results Page.

A CARICOM Election Observation Mission monitored Monday’s Election day activities.

The Mission will issue a Preliminary Statement outlining the its initial assessment of the electoral process. It will thereafter prepare a detailed Independent Final Report on the election for submission to CARICOM Secretary-General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque. 

The ten-member CARICOM Election Observation Mission is led by Ms. Fern Narcis-Scope, Chief Elections Officer of the Elections and Boundaries Commission of Trinidad and Tobago.

Other members of the CEOM are –

Mr. John Jarvis – Antigua and Barbuda

Ms. Jeanette Charles – Antigua and Barbuda

Mr. Sase Gunraj – Guyana  

Mr. Manoj Narayan – Guyana

Ambassador Michael Powell – St. Kitts and Nevis

Ms. Dora James – St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Mr. Steven Mac Andrew – Suriname

Mr. Hendrik Jamaloodin – Suriname; and

Ms. Pamela Ogiste – Trinidad and Tobago.

The CEOM is supported by Mr. Jhonson Alexandre and Ms. Serojnie Seetaram of the Foreign and Community Relations Directorate of the CARICOM Secretariat.

The role of the CEOM is to observe the electoral process, collect qualitative and quantitative information regarding the voting process and the results to facilitate the preparation of an Independent Final Report on the General Elections of Saint Lucia.

Show More
Back to top button