Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency

Entry into Force: 04/07/2013


Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA)

2 July 2008, St. Johns, Antigua and Barbuda


CDEMA shall have the following objectives, mobilising and coordinating disaster relief; mitigating or eliminating, as far as practicable, the immediate consequences of disasters in Participating States; providing immediate and coordinated response by means of emergency disaster relief to any affected Participating State; securing , coordinating and providing to interested inter-governmental and non-governmental organisation reliable and comprehensive information on disasters affecting any Participating State ; encouraging the adoption of disaster loss reduction and mitigation policies and practices at the national and regional level; encouraging cooperative arrangements and mechanism to facilitate the development of a culture of disaster loss reduction; and coordinating the establishment, enhancement and maintenance of adequate emergency disaster response capabilities among the Participating States.

Date of Ratification:

The Bahamas (17 October 2008)
Barbados (4 July 2013)
Guyana (23 July 2013)
Jamaica (8 December 2010)
St. Kitts and Nevis (26 August 2013)
St. Vincent and the Grenadines (13 October 2008)
Trinidad and Tobago (15 March 2010)
Suriname (5 March 2013)
Grenada (29 September 2015)
Dominica (16 February 2017)

Entry into Force: 04/07/2013

Date of Signature:

Anguilla (5 July 2010)
Antigua and Barbuda (3 July 2008)
The Bahamas (3 July 2008)
Barbados (4 July 2008)
Belize (13 March 2009)
Dominica (2 July 2008)
Grenada (13 March 2009)
Guyana (2 July 2008)
Haiti (13 March 2009)
Jamaica (2 December 2010)
St Kitts and Nevis (13 March 2009)
Saint Lucia (3 July 2008)
St. Vincent and the Grenadines (4 July 2008)
Suriname (13 March 2009)
Trinidad and Tobago (13 March 2009)

  Download File
Back to top button