caricom@50EducationInstitutions @ 50

The Caribbean Examinations Council® (CXC®) at 50


The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) is a regional institution that is geared at developing the human capital of the Caribbean people. It provides: 

  • syllabuses of the highest quality;  
  • valid and reliable examinations and certificates of international repute for students of all ages, abilities and interests;  
  • services to educational institutions in the development of syllabuses, examinations and examinations’ administration, in the most cost-effective way 

Its vision is “A digitally transformed enterprise providing quality, relevant and globally recognised educational services.” 

CXC® was established in 1972 under Agreement by the Participating Governments in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). The institution comprises 16 Participating Countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago and Turks and Caicos Islands. 

The first examinations for the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate® (CSEC®) were offered in 1979 in five subjects. Subsequent to CSEC®, CXC® has introduced a comprehensive suite of qualifications to meet the needs of the region: Caribbean Primary Exit Assessment™ (CPEA™), Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence® (CCSLC®), *Caribbean Vocational Qualification (CVQ), Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination® (CAPE®) and the CXC® Associate Degree (CXC®-AD). 

The organisation also collaborates with countries in the Dutch Caribbean – Curaçao, Saba, St Eustatius and St Maarten, as well as Suriname. 

Show More
Back to top button