CARICOM Single Market Application Processing System (CAPS)

The Document and Workflow Management System (DWMS) is a crucial component of the larger initiative to make the rights under the CSM more accessible and to ensure a higher level of efficiency and effectiveness in the processing of these rights. The system will contribute to the achievement of the full integration of the national markets of Member States of the Community into a single, unified and open market area.

The Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas calls for the modernisation of Governments Bureaucracies by inter alia:

  1. Encouraging the development of closer contacts between public sector administrations, industries and stakeholders;
  2. Removing impediments and improving the regulatory framework for economic enterprises at the national and regional levels; and
  3. Encouraging cost effectiveness in the delivery of services to the public.

In addition to addressing these Treaty mandates, the system will also generate reliable data on the movement in the Single Market. This has been a challenge the Community and Member States have been grappling with over the life of the CSM.

The system is a fully integrated web-based information management system which will facilitate the movement of skilled persons, temporary service providers and business persons across the twelve (12) participating Member States, by efficiently processing a significant number of documents which fall under the following processes:

  1. Application for a Skilled National Certificate
  2. Verification of Skilled National Certificate
  3. Change of Skilled National Certificate
  4. Application for Service Provider Certificate
  5. Change of Service Provider Certificate
  6. Movement under the Right of Establishment 

Expected Outcomes of the Document and Workflow Management System

The expected outcomes of the Document and Workflow Management System are:

(a) Improved application procedures, efficiency in the processing and approval and increased overall user friendliness of the system;

(b) Harmonised and standardised application throughout the twelve (12) participating Member States; and

(c) Improved capability to collect and capture reliable data which will enable Member States and the Community to formulate/develop policy and take decisions based on factual information.

Back to top button