GuyanaPress ReleasesSportsTrinidad and Tobago

Guyanese and Trinidadian nationals win CARICOM Annual 10k

(CARICOM Secretariat, Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown, Guyana)     Trinidad and Tobago’s Tonya Nero won the women’s leg of the CARICOM 10K Road Race for the third time in a row, when the event came off in St. John’s, Antigua/Barbuda on Sunday June 29 2014.
Nero made it to the finish line in just over 38 minutes to claim the winning trophy along with US $1000.  Second place went to Julien Josiah of Guyana while Trinidadian Janel Nedd copped the third position.
Guyanese national Cleveland Forde excelled in the men’s section, clocking 34 minutes, 52 seconds. He also took home US $1000 and a trophy.

Forde was followed home by Elliot Mason of Antigua and Barbuda, in 34 minutes 59 seconds, while Grenadian Radix Graham was third in 35 minutes 17 seconds.
Second place finishers got a trophy and US $750 and third places a plaque and US $500. Prizes were also presented to six year-old brothers, Mark and Marcus Murphy, for being the youngest to complete the event. The cash awards, trophies and plaques were presented by CARICOM Assistant Secretary General Dr. Douglas Slater.

The Annual 10KRoad Race was part of the build up to the 35th annual CARICOM Heads of Government conference to be held at the Sandals Grande Antigua Resorts and Spa, July 1-4 2014.  As part of the Opening Ceremony,  Ms. Michele Henderson of Dominica will launch the new CARICOM song,  “Celebrating CARICOM” which was selected from 63 submissions from 15 Member States and Associate Members. The prestigious CARICOM Triennial Award for Women 2014 will also be presented to Ms. Marion Bethel of The Bahamas.
The Opening Ceremony will be streamed live on the CARICOM website and via the link  
For updates on the 35th annual conference of the CARICOM Heads of Government, visit the CARICOM website at There will also be posts and updates on the Caribbean Community Facebook page. 

Show More
Back to top button