Quasi-Cabinet Responsibility:
Agriculture, Agricultural Diversification and Food Security

Learn more about the Quasi-Cabinet here

Visit Government Website

Browse Country Profiles


Key facts

Date of Membership in CARICOM: 1 Aug 1973

Also Known as:Land of Many Waters

Status of Independence:Independent 1966/01/18

Area: 216,970 km2 (83,000 miles2)

Capital City: Georgetown

Population: 800,000 (2013)

Currency: Guyana Dollar

Highest National Award: Order of Excellence (OE)


GDP: EC$7,614Mn (2012)

GDP Growth: 4.6% p.a. 2009–13

GNI: US$3.1bn

GNI PC: US$3,750

GDP per Capita: EC$7, 614 (2012)

Key dates in history

1616 Dutch established colony in Essequibo River with Headquarters at Kyk-Over-Al, followed by Second and third colonies in Berbice and Demerara respectively

1814 Finally ceded to Britain by the Netherlands after severl exchanges between them

1831 Colonies consolidated into British Guiana

1953 First elections under Universal Adult Suffrage

1961 Elections held under self-governing constitution. Dr Cheddi Jagan, first Premier

1962-64 Prolonged labour and racial unrest, Fresh elections under Proportional Representation, Linden Forbes Samson Burnham becomes Premier

1966 Independence achieved, LFS Burnham, first Prime Minister

1970 Republican status, Arthur Chung, first President

1980 New constitution established, LFS Burnham elected first Executive President

1992 PPP regains power. Party leader Cheddi B. Jagan elected President

Back to top button