ACP- MEASCARICOM at workEnvironmentHome Page SlideshowNewsNews and MediaPress Releases

Consider CMS as conservation tool – environmentalists urged

Environmentalists were on Wednesday encouraged to seriously consider the Convention on Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) as a mechanism that can support Regional conservation objectives.

The advice came from Dr. Thérèse Yarde, Project Coordinator, Caribbean Hub Capacity-Building ACP-MEAs at the CARICOM Secretariat. She was at the time making brief remarks at the opening ceremony of a three-day Regional Capacity-Building Workshop for CMS Non-Parties of the Caribbean Region in Bridgetown, Barbados. The workshop is being hosted by CARICOM Secretariat in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

“CMS bears similarities to several other international environmental instruments and activities already being implemented in the Region.  It allows for the establishment of agreements that are specific to the Caribbean context, along lines similar to those of the Protocol on Specially Protected Areas and Wildlife,” she said.

According to Dr. Yarde, the CMS complemented national conservation efforts and existing multinational initiatives such as the Wider Caribbean Sea Turtle Network and the Caribbean Biological Corridor. She said the convention provided an opportunity for synergies with the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands, and the Convention on Biological Diversity.

In closing, Dr. Yarde used the opportunity to thank UNEP for partnering to host the event. She also thanked the European Union and UN Environment for their financial support, and the Government of Barbados for co-hosting the event.

Mr. Francisco Rilla of the UNEP Division of Environmental Law and Conventions thanked CARICOM for collaborating to host the event. He also used the opportunity to thank the government of Barbados and other partners for assisting with hosting and organising the event.

There are 11 countries participating in the workshop including The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Jamaica, Haiti, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname.

Show More
Back to top button