Browse Institutions

Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ)

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) critically determines how the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) functions. The Court attracts investment to the region by providing stability through the uniform interpretation and application of the law.

The CCJ has exclusive and compulsory authority in interpreting and applying the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. This means that parties in dispute under the Treaty only have judicial resolution in this court.

The CCJ also serves as the final Court of Appeal for some Member states replacing the United Kingdom’s Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC) as the court of last resort in civil and criminal matters.

Other Quick Facts

  • Established: 2001
  • Location: Trinidad and Tobago
  • Areas of work: Law
  • Members: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago
  • Final Court of Appeal: Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Guyana, Saint Lucia
  • President: Honourable Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders
  • Special Projects:
Back to top button